Determinations of child support are calculated using guidelines established by Texas law and factor in a percentage of the parent’s income for the support of the child.
The amounts calculated are done so in the best interests of the child to ensure that parents are materially providing for their children – a duty inherent in parenting whether or not parents are married or ever were married.
Here is a breakdown of how the court calculates child support:
Texas Family Code has percentage guidelines that apply to the first $8,550.00* of the non-custodial parent’s net monthly income.
Guideline for Percentages
Number of Children | Percentage
1 | 20% of the obligor’s net resources
2 | 25% of the obligor’s net resources
3 | 30% of the obligor’s net resources
4 | 35% of the obligor’s net resources
5 | 40% of the obligor’s net resources
6+ | Not less than 40% of the obligor’s net resources
How net resources are calculated
The court considers the first $8,550.00 net monthly income only for calculating support, and subtracts social security, federal taxes, union dues (if applicable), state income tax (if applicable) and the cost of health insurance for one child.
With a wage withholding order child support is withheld from the obligor’s paycheck and forwarded to the Texas State Disbursement Unit, located in San Antonio, who then sends the payment to the obligee.
If the obligor is not abiding by court-ordered child support, enforcement may be necessary.
Waiving Child Support
Because the right to child support is considered to belong to the child and not the parent, most courts will not allow parents to waive child support even when agreed upon by both parties.
We can explain further detail the ins and outs of child support – contact us today for help with your child support concerns.
*Effective as of September 1, 2013.